The contact lens that almost wasn’t

Happy 2008! It’s a good time for me to begin a blog – new year, new job, new take on life – can you smell that positive energy? Smells like rainbows, right? I started a blog at the beginning of last year, but it petered out miserably because I didn’t have the time or ideas to add any depth to my entries (basically, a very pathetic existence at the beginning of 2007). But, my dear sweet Bella T recently got me hooked on reading hers, and has acted as my inspiration to starting this one (well, maybe a kick in the pants would put it more accurately).  So, while I figure out how I’m going to manage this site I will share a mediocre story from today.

6:45am: I popped in new contacts. It was supposed to be a good thing, as it was a bright shiny new pair that were going to allow me to see the world without floaties or irritation. You’ve been there, right? I immediately noticed a semi-uncomfortable feeling on the left eye, but chalked it up to the newness of the lens, and how my eye just needed to go through an “adjustment” period. Like when you buy a new bra and it’s uncomfortable at first, but after a couple of wearings and a couple of runs through the laundry (causing it to shrink to the size that you actually are), it fits perfect! 

12:55pm: For some reason (semi-blame will go to the fact that I was running late this morning, and unable to caffeinate myself until 12:14pm), I allowed the lens irritation to continue through lunch – the irritation that caused my eye to water uncontrollably and become bloodshot and glassy and puffy and smeared most of my eye make up onto the sleeve of my sweater (I look like I do drugs? Me? No! I never touch the stuff!). Now, part of the reason I turned a blind eye (no pun intended) to the condition of my eyes, was because I have a head cold and thought they were tearing up becauase it was part of the whole cold thing.

12:56pm: While looking in the rearview mirrow of my car as I got back from lunch, I popped the contact out, turned it the right way and reinserted it.

12:57pm: Instant relief. The remainder of my day was spent in bliss – no tears, no glassiness, no constant irritation. Just pure relief – which is what it should have felt like at 6:46am. Oh well.

One Response

  1. Kelley with an ‘E’! Bravo, my dear! This is why I stick to glasses, although, I never imagined my problem with contacts could have been the fact that they were in backwards! You are already doing better than me 🙂

Leave a Reply

